Getting Closer: male downy woodpecker…

03Feb09

I did not need the reminder that spring was six weeks away…. I found that even when Phil states that we are having an early spring it has no bearing on my life; the dramatic claim does little in terms of thawing ice and snow …. at this point I just sing Christmas carols to dampen any dreams of the premature warmth. Winter Wonderland is the song of the week.

Still snowy

as you can see; there is still lots of snow on the ground…

So I focused on the birds; the male downy woodpecker (Picoides pubescens) who allowed me a bit closer today.

Downy Woodpecker (male)

I felt better about that after the last shot I posted of him …. which never did the handsome fella justice…

Downy Woodpecker (male)

Meanwhile, the birds that visited me all winter long also put on a bit of a show…

Redbreasted Nuthatch

Here was a redbreasted nuthatch (Sitta canadensis) who I’ve put out food for all winter.

And then of course the female downy (Picoides pubescens) showed up – not to be outdone by the male….

Downy Woodpecker (female)

She really seems to enjoy the suet..

Downy Woodpecker (female)

and I love watching a woodpecker’s tail working up a tree …or in this case on the underside of the feeder.

In the last couple of days I did end up seeing a lifer; the common goldeneye (Bucephala clangula) (this is a distant shot but I’m sure I called the species correctly…)

Common Goldeneye

In the next couple of day’s I’ll try to honor the few birds that don’t fly away the minute the weather gets cold! Like this little lady dark eye’d junco (Junco hyemalis) who ate faithfully at my feeder all winter long. I took this shot in the middle of January.

Dark-eyed Junco

I guess, in my opinion to have faith to make it… means just about everything. They inspire me to believe that tho the temps are cold, the snow is thick and the frost is hard nothing will stop spring, nor will a semi-popular rodent bring it. Like all good things; it comes in it’s own sweet time.

4 Responses to “Getting Closer: male downy woodpecker…”

  1. Those photos are outstanding, Lori! You did a fantastic job there! I have to ask… were you using your blind? I’ve been considering trying that myself.

  2. Actually a blind is great, I got the “dog house” which works good with the birds – with the female shots I did use the blind but after I stepped out the male landed on the pole and allowed me to step in close. I think by then the little guy figured out that the funny noise the camera made meant him no harm. I also got a gilly suit for Christmas I haven’t tried it yet but as soon as it warms up I’m going to give it a shot! (I’m sure the birds must think me insane!)

  3. I’ll look forward to seeing the results with the suit! Whatever you’re doing, it is working. Those are some of the best bird photos I’ve ever seen!

  4. Outstanding up close photos! BRAVO


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

