Fears Can Be Funny

15Sep06

My hubby and I was reading through this web-page;

http://www.phobialist.com/  it’s all on phobias.

I thought we’d talk about fear – silly fears, completely normal or reasonable fears, the where are they fears….. according to the website these are the real terms for real fears. Except of course the ones Joe and I created at the very end. I have to put a quick disclaimer here I do not intend to pick on the fears of anyone however, like I said some of these were just too wonderful not to share.

Simply silly phobias or ones that just struck
us funny……

Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia- Fear of long words.

Alektorophobia- Fear of chickens.

Autodysomophobia- Fear of one that has a vile odor. (another possible name? funkophobia)

Dutchphobia- Fear of the Dutch.

Linonophobia- Fear of string.

Walloonphobia- Fear of the Walloons.

Geniophobia- Fear of chins. 

Perfectible reasonable phobias:

Algophobia- Fear of pain.

Amychophobia- Fear of scratches or being scratched.

Ankylophobia- Fear of immobility of a joint.

Anglophobia- Fear of England or English culture, etc.

Ballistophobia- Fear of missiles or bullets.

Zemmiphobia- Fear of the great mole rat. (With a name like the great mole rat he just does not sound friendly and thus logically would inspire fear.) 

Phobia’s that would really suck if you had it;

Clinophobia- Fear of going to bed.

Dextrophobia- Fear of objects at the right side of the body.

Levophobia- Fear of things to the left side of the body.

Ereuthrophobia- Fear of blushing.

Oenophobia- Fear of wines.

Optophobia- Fear of opening one’s eyes.  

Where are these phobias? (and our suggestions for possible names.)

The fear of late night commercials speaking of male enhancement drugs? pokeaphobia, smilingbobaphobia

The fear of being afraid? phobiaaphobia

The phobia of phobia lists? aboredaphobia

The phobia of Ron Popeil? roncoaphobia  

The phobia to leave ones own house? walkouttadadooraphobia 

45 Responses to “Fears Can Be Funny”

  1. xachonaranquiphobia – the fear of jelly opened at midnight

  2. Hi Rosie, nice addition thank you. 🙂 this one would be okay as long as you slept thru it.

  3. 3 Shelby

    I think tonight I will stay up till midnight, open some jelly, and see if anyone gets scared.

  4. 5 Liza

    The style of writing is very familiar . Have you written guest posts for other blogs?

    • nope.. I have another blog (loriaull @ wordpress) but I’ve never guest blogged. Thanks for asking.

  5. You wouldn’t believe it but I have lost all day researching for some articles about this. Thanks for this, it was a essential read and has helped me out to no end. Cheers, <a href="http://ezinearticles.com/?Funny-Christmas-Songs-For-Children—Groove-King-Senseless

  6. BWAHAHAHAHAAAA! That’s hilarious!

  7. Hello sweetie, sweet website! I really like this blog post.. I was curious about this for a long time now. This cleared a lot up for me! Do you have a rss feed that I can add?

  8. great site, i found it whilst searching for something else and i am glad that i have. I have bookmarked and will be back.

  9. I just required some information and was searching on Google for it. I visited each page that came on first page and didnt got any relevant result then I thought to check out the second one and got your blog. This is what I wanted!

  10. 12 tat guy

    papaphobia is the fear of the pope………….

  11. 13 mat

    Anatidaephobia: the fear that you are being watched by a duck 😉

  12. 14 Kat

    Alektrophobia– fear of chickens is very real. I’m terrified of chickens, because my mum is and I guess I kind of picked up on her fear because of her reactions to chickens and all birds, really, when I was little. Yeah, I know, weird.

  13. 15 emolove

    Medomalacuphobia. the fear of loosing an erection

  14. hey Admin , i read w/ u write. LOL Please come to my blog

  15. 17 pjoceci

    i have many many phobias…..ballistophobia, ophidiophobia, selachophobia, bathophobia, thanatophobia, and the fear of violent movies and video games.

  16. 18 pjoceci

    aviophobia, tomophobia,and the fear of being hated are other ones too

  17. im asian

  18. We stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following
    you. Look forward to looking into your web page yet again.

  19. Now I am going away to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast
    coming yet again to read other news.

  20. For hottest information you have to visit world wide web and on world-wide-web I found
    this site as a most excellent website for latest updates.

  21. I know this web page offers quality depending articles and additional information,
    is there any other web page which offers these information in
    quality?

  22. 24 Ed

    I have a fear of mold that everyone laughs at me for. I looked it up and it’s called mycophobia.

  23. Whats up this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually
    code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  24. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am
    not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else
    know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  25. What’s up to every one, the contents existing at this website are genuinely awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  26. I am sure this post has touched all the internet people, its really really fastidious piece of writing on building up new web
    site.

  27. It is built like a tank, you can easily program it where to go (and where not) and it even recharges itself.
    Do not let the looks deceive you however; some of these vacuums are tough machines.
    The liners also help keep the canvas bag free of odors that will stay even after you dump out the bag.

  28. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any
    high-quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of area
    . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this info So i’m glad to express that I’ve a very
    good uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I so much
    without a doubt will make certain to don?t fail to remember this website and provides it a glance regularly.

  29. I am sure this paragraph has touchhed all the internet users,
    its really really fastidious piece of writing on building up new web site.

  30. Wallpapers are available in different colors, and you will have to choose one that will goes with
    the particular style of your room.

  31. whoah this blog is fantastic i like studying your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You know, many individuals
    are looking around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  32. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about art gallery jobs.
    Regards

  33. Click here for more information on real estate postcards will include information on houses currently being sold in the past decade and this has created niche opportunities for entertainment related complexes
    and facilities. This is the area to choose from,” was the standard reaction. Already, Las Vegas, Atlantic City, Mississippi, or elsewhere? This article should not be the final marrakech women price. Each day, there are manygreat reasons that make New Delhi a great choice is to take action.

  34. Hello, its good paragraph concerning media print, we all know media is a enormous source of facts.

  35. Do not even sure you follow them, and what is Group B
    Strep is to detect fertility awareness pregnancy a
    woman tests positive. However, who put it on your man.
    The excitement of this hormone is detected during the early pregnant signs and validate the answer.

  36. It categorizes them on a priority basis naturally. With this,
    you can easily keep track of facebook account
    if a person frequent internet surfer. It is the
    most successful smart phone in the actual.

  37. Thanks designed for sharing such a fastidious thinking, article is good,
    thats why i have read it fully

  38. Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for
    my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  39. In our Gamescom game, we were subject to a deflected goal.
    Sooooooooo boring and has put me off getting FIFA 15,sorry.

  40. Everything is very open with a really clear description of the challenges.

    It was truly informative. Your website is
    very helpful. Thank you for sharing!


  1. 1 Tastefulcelebs… Your Daily Dose Of Hollywood » Archive » Jack Bauer is scared of…..mirrors
  2. 2 what is the best male enhancement
  3. 3 Forskolin Review

Leave a Reply

