Pepper and Key-Key

15Sep06

lilpepper.jpg

The picture above is Pepper. I spoke of her in the puppy update post her being best buddies with Patch. 

When we first had the puppies I told the kids they could each keep one puppy. I made this decision for two reasons. First, we saw a mountain lion on the property one day.

Before security systems and local police there was only one real way of protecting oneself. In the days of a cowboy it was a rifle and a pup. In the days of the American Indian it was a bow and a pup. Long before that I’m pretty convinced it was a rock and a pup. However, they do everything it takes to protect a child. They whine, bark and bite and that’s good enough for me.

The second reason was because I was sure that each child had the ability to train one puppy. Nick picked Pepper. I told him to re-pick. 

I knew from day one that Pepper would be a hard train. She is smart enough to know she can get away with just about any act because she is cute. And any act she is not supposed to do she is most likely doing. She has a habit of biting holes in the Puppy Chow bag so that the dog food spill all across the porch. She was the first to learn to climb the stairs – and scratch on the girls bedroom door so that they let her in during the night. She jumps the highest and gets very jealous if you pet another puppy. She will attack her brothers just out of spite. She was the first to learn that her brothers would stop fighting her if she bit them really hard on their very sensative ears. Although she looks like a beatle pup she’s ten times smarter than one. She is always the first one to climb on your lap but she is also the first one to bite you on the chin just to get a response. The only way to calm her is to love her as much as you possibly can with snuggles until your hand gets tired of petting. If you do this she rewards you with licks on the face so often it’s hard to catch your breath. I adore Pepper, even though common sense says I shouldn’t.

Speaking of hard cases – my sister brought me a kitty – not just a kitty but the world smallest kitty. Joe calls her a teacup kitty. Can you believe a cat in the middle of the puppy path? We’ll here is Key-Key.  

keykey.jpg

I bet you can already predict the personality of this poor little kitty and I bet you can also predict why she is sleeping so soundly here. I spend a better part of my day doing all I can to protect her from a group of hyperactive and playful puppies. I let her outside to go to the bathroom and in comes this sopping wet cat with her fur spread out in all different directions. They chew on her like she is a toy. She’s smart and savvy – she has learned that she can walk in front of the glass and mock the puppies, with playful pats and work them into a frenzy. She also has learned that bushes are a great place to hide as well as under the stairs because the puppies are too fat to fit in there.

She snuggles very well at night with us but she also tends to be mauled whenever she leaves the house. You would think she would be mad. Our card carrying PTSD kitty is a new addition to the family and a welcome one.

Our kitty has no real name to speak of – we tossed out ideas – but to be honest we were burnt out on naming animals after seven puppies. We tossed around Felix but in reality when we call her we all say, “Key-Key” so if your questioning the odd name I can understand your confusion. She seems to come to it so we feel pretty good about it.

So far she seems to be the smartest of all our little animals.

3 Responses to “Pepper and Key-Key”

  1. 1 Jennifer

    I have a cat named Key-Key, and I named her that for the same reason you listed, so I don’t think it’s a weird name. (:

  2. Well Jennifer, I have to say she comes to it so it’s an effective name. In general that’s very rare with cats – a name they will come too. Thanks for your comment!

    Lori

  3. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or
    copyright violation? My blog has a lot of unique content
    I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but
    it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without
    my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

