My First Hunting Trip….

12Oct06

I think men like hunting for one simple reason, the same reason I’ve come to love it. We like it a lot better than shopping.

The truth? If it was socially acceptable and legal to cut roses from the ladies yard next store no woman would get another dozen reds with Safeway wrapping on it. Police (mostly ran by men) probably knows this and thus, we have laws on that kind of thing. 

I grew up in a real honest anti-gun home.

My mom seems to be afraid of them even when they are locked up in a safe. In my family guns always came across as the “grunt” big magic boom stick. So magic in fact that my hubbies collection often times causes fear in my family. As if they are so darn magic these sticks can turn the two locks on the huge safe, open it, load themselves and shoot the family all within an hour. Every-time I turn around I’m hearing about them again with fear and trepidation in one of the voices of my family members.

I know what’s going on tho – they have deliverance images of “good old boys” with guns. Shooting out mailboxes, road signs and shooting apples off the top of their kids heads for fun and entertainment. A lot of people think there are only two types on entertainment for rural people, guns and whiskey, and a “good old boys” theory is that mesh well together. The truth is we don’t do much to change their mind. It’s a lot more fun for them to keep these images in their head. I secretly like that they are paranoid about their mailboxes.

But that’s how really anti-gun my family was and is. To this day shot guns, rifles and hand guns are given a lot more power than they deserve. If the magic stick goes “boom-boom.” And honestly before I met my hubby I was pretty much on that plane of understanding myself. Until my first hunt….

My hubby assured me that if we took down a buck we would not have to go shopping. He knew just how to lure me. I’d rather rub my face briskly on rough-edged pavement then spend a day in the mall. I assured him I had eaten deer meat and only liked it barely. He, eager to hunt, ignored this and said, “let’s do it anyway.” Eventually promises of not going to the grocery store was slyly put into every conversation. I realized that even my memories of badly prepared deer meat were more pleasant than me going to Walmart. I bit.

So last year a buck walked across the property three days into hunting season. Joe was in his underwear and I told him that the buck was there. He got his gun and walked out in the cold brisk air and took the shot.

Over here we have three types of deer, the mule deer, white-tailed and just recently I saw a group of black-tails wandering with the mule deer. Another stereotype shot down the tubes? We watch them a lot more than we shoot them.  All year long we watch them and study their patterns and what I’ve found out through this independent research project? They don’t have a pattern. I guess that’s why call them wild and free. They can do any damn thing they want and they do.

As a matter a fact it will behoove each hunter to do two things – throw away your hunting magazines and secondly, get coffee at the local cafe and ask a local person where they are and you’ll bring one home. Fishermen will always send you to a dead hole. Hunters however, are a friendly breed, they’ll send you to a honeypot as long as they aren’t dodging your bullets.

We’re lucky enough that the aforementioned honeypot exists in our backyard and on the front of our property.  And my husband considers himself lucky that he saves huge amounts of money because he can simply hunt in his boxers. No spendy Thinsulate or Gortex for this big guy, Hanes serves him quite well thank you.

So we wandered down to the buck and my hubby’s shot took him down really nicely. He was not still breathing seemed like he was not in any kind of pain and he only jogged away from the spot about seventeen feet before he fell. He turned out to be a really nice mule deer. Very handsome and for the first time in my life I touched an animal that was about three times bigger than me. He still felt warm and his pelt was rugged and soft a feeling that only a hunter can appreciate. What seemed to strike me the most was that men have been doing this for more generations than I could fathom. Certainly a lot longer than they’ve been going to Walmart.

I guess it’s the same way with marriage. For all those anti-marriage people out there it has kept communities together for more generations than we can count. And even though we seem all pent out on destroying it – it has worked.

I liked the hunt for that same reason. We have done this for thousands of years and I felt it in the moment I touched the buck. We have raised a generation of children that have never felt connected to the past and never have any kind of history. The biggest history they can claim is Pong (the Atari video game) led to PlayStation 2.  Heck they don’t even dig our music.

By demonizing hunting we’ve created generation of children who have never know the direct feeling of God providing for them. But that’s how I felt like God had blessed me. It’s no wonder there are so many that don’t believe. To believe you have to depend. Who has to be dependent when Walmart will sell you beef and a PlayStation and you never have to create one thing in your whole life?

Children never knowing what it feels like when God provides. That’s a damned shame.

9 Responses to “My First Hunting Trip….”

  1. I have to say i agree with you when our children will never experience what we had growing up. God does provide, and as it is stated , God helps those who help themselves.
    Living off the land and having critters to watch and take care is a joy.
    I too would rather be hunting and in the woods verses shopping of any kind.Malls don’t impress me and people are very rude.
    I do have to say, I have been to Colville and Kettle Falls , I think Kettles falls is an awesome town. My husband and I recently bought 40 acres out near Northport off Boundry Lake Rd off of Alladin. We have a 4 year retirment plan to get the heck out of Dodge. We live on the westside of washington and we can’t wait to get out to the wilderness. We spend so much time in our local woods and there is never enough time,cause you always have to go back home.

    We love the history of the whole area there and can’t wait to learn more.We are into old towns and few people.
    Now a days there are TOO MANY rude people, and when it comes down to it, none of them will know how to survive if they had too.Only the people who understand what the land can give them,are going to prevail.Sad to say—but it is true.
    As for being an outsider of place, we have already found that out from some of the locals in Colville, what a joke.If you are an outsider, they rake you thru the coals without twitching an eye.
    What ever happen to kind people.
    I don’t think people remember how to be kind to their neighbors or strangers.
    I do look forward to living out that direction,my kids are grown and starting new lives of their own,but they did have a chance to encounter some real life country living and learning what God can provide. Even the beauty of nature.
    Thank you for you stories and sharing,oh I think KEY KEY and Bingo are adorable.
    Brenda

  2. Hi Brenda,

    I really appreciate your thoughtful response. I’ll do my best to provide more history. Yesterday I went up by Orient with my older son and we went mine hunting. It’s a crazy drive but I have to say it was neat seeing the old placer mines. It is just off First Thought Mt. Road just on the other side the town of Orient. We had a fabulous time. There was also some photos in The People’s Place over there. So if you love history they are facinating. I haven’t had much experince with Northport people – other than watching basketball games at Orient school, though by your directions, I do know you must have bought a beautiful place. Your right about Colville and it’s sad really. All I will say is if there is a division it really exists between landowners and locals in the towns. (Land owners in Colville have nothing to prove and I like them a lot – usually you can pick them out by their cowboy hat and boots.) Orient tho seems immune to snobbery which I’m grateful for and these guys dress like farmers. I do know that if you ever decide to get out this direction and need anything you just let me know. Many people are helpful here – but those tend to be people in want of nothing. I once ran into a local kid (born and raised in Kettle Falls) I had said, “so where do you fish at?” And he came back with he didn’t fish much and didn’t much like fishing. I was stunned.. all of this water, all the walleye and trout. So I said, “what do you do for fun.” He answered like a city kid, “Oh I go to the park and the swimming pool and hang around town.” Then it dawned on me… why does Kettle Falls HAVE a swimming pool? I’ve never seen more creeks, lakes and rivers in my whole life. And that stunned me??? I sent my kids once and they hated it. They prefered to put on a snorkle, mask and fins on them and then when they do this along the river bank they can watch fish go by and see the seaweed cover rocks and pick up a few lures. Maybe it can all be stated simply by a swimming pool five minutes away from the largest lake in washington state…. Like you I wonder why we human beings worked so hard to improve what God did right… and I wonder why most people have not figured out enough to admit they were wrong? Respect over here is usually gained by independence and I hope that makes sense.

    Anyway, I’ve babbled enough – I really hope you love it here as much as I do. And if you ever start a quilting bee let me know – consider me in. 🙂

    Lori

  3. Hi
    This may help you, Everything that you wanted to know about Hunting

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site.

    You have some really good posts and I eel I would
    be a good asset. If you ever want to take some off thhe load off, I’d love
    to write some content for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail iff interested.
    Thanks!

  5. At this time it looks like BlogEngine is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  6. I know this if off topic but I’m looking int starting my
    own blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web savy so I’m not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be
    greatly appreciated. Kudos

  7. When someone writes an paragraph he/she keeps the idea of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it.
    Therefore that’s why this pisce of writing is outstdanding.

    Thanks!|

  8. Your ability to play all day until your mother call
    you in is normal. Once you have a working list of three or four eye doctors who are located
    near you, pick up the phone and call the office. This mixture can be stored in a glass jar in the refrigerator for three or
    four days.

  9. Look for offers like free advice, free quotes, a loyalty program and
    guarantees on service. is a quality spring
    manufacturer of precision coil springs & wire forms which includes
    a variety of Compression Spring; types, shapes, and specific specifications.
    Garage doors and windows are the areas where homeowners tend to skimp on hardware.


Leave a Reply

