just a few of my favorite things….

08May07

….or a few wildflowers I’ve taken in the last month or so. All the photos were taken in my backyard with the exception of the shooting star which was found higher up the mountain – I ran into wild strawberries up there on the day I took that photo but they had not bloomed yet.

huckleberry.jpg

I adore the huckleberry plant in May – the reason is at first morning light or evening light it catches colors in a way I’ve never seen on a plant. I think it has to do with the outer maroon edges. By September they are filled with berries. In the fall I realized that almost all of my backyard turned into a berry garden. (Between the Service berry bushes – which taste fabulous like a light blue berry – the Elderberry bushes, the huckleberries and Oregon grape it’s no wonder we see a lot of overturned stumps and bear scat on the property.)

alpine-shooting-star.jpg

The Few-flowers Shootingstar. (Dodecatheon pulchellum) This was difficult to catch the wind kept blowing way up on Mount Bisbee and it’s such a small fragile flower. I was please with the overhead shot – and the flower itself just fascinated me.

100_0828.jpg

Slender-fruited Desert parsley (Lomatium leptocarpum)

wildflower.jpg

This is my very favorite flower because it’s so tiny and because its the first wildflower to bloom on the mountain. The Prairie Star. (Lithophragma Parviflorum) 

arrowleaf.jpg

I’m pretty sure this is the Arrowleaf balsamroot (Balsamorhiza sagittata.) It is without a doubt the first flower that is really noticed because of it’s size and eye blasting yellow. They seem to like the rocky formations along the roadside – however this guy is residing in my backyard as well.

larkspur.jpg

This is a larkspur – there are many varieties of this plant and I’m not sure which one it is in terms of the scientific name. (Rumor has it that even some scientist have a hard time distinguishing the differences in the species.)

oregon-grape.jpg

The flower on the Oregon Grape (we have both the short version and tall in our backyard.) This plant is everywhere in my backyard too. It’s intresting because usually if the leaves are exposed to sunlight they turn a bright reddish color. The red (which I don’t show here) contrasts with the dark green and bright yellow flowers and really it’s a pretty glorious sight to behold.

And lastly, the spring view of my backyard – the fog is hanging over the lake which often happens.

view.jpg

Most of the bushes you see are either huckleberry or primrose both of which has not flowered yet.  (Primroses are pretty but they really are not a hikers best friend.)

If anyone is aware of a mistake I made here (in classifying the wildflowers) let me know I’m completely up for correction.

4 Responses to “just a few of my favorite things….”

  1. 1 montucky

    Beautiful pictures, aullori! I especially like the huckleberry and the perfect picture of the Prairie Star. A few days ago I spent half an hour trying to photograph it and the breezes just wouldn’t let me. They are just so delicate. That’s also a really nice shot of the Oregon Grape!

    Yup, that’s an Arrowleaf. We have a back yard full of them. They sure do put out a lot of color!

    The Larkspur haven’t even started to bloom around here yet. It may be several more weeks yet.

    That’s quite a view from your back yard. Absolutely beautiful!

    Thanks for posting these!

  2. Great photos, Aullori!

    The Prairie Star is lovely – I don’t believe we have those around here.

    You’re right – Larkspur is pretty darned tough to identify. I don’t usually bother trying unless I have a full shot including the base of the plant. I find it a difficult flower to photograph, and you did a nice job w/the composition.

    Your yard view is fabulous, wow!

  3. 3 aullori

    Hi Terry – to be honest I must have taken twenty shots of the prairie star and it didn’t really come out how I liked it until it was backed by the oregon grape plant. (That dark green background really helps to pull it out.) For some reason the fragility of the flower (like you mentioned) the wind, too much light and the grassy background really made it look fuzzy most of the time. (In a nutshell turned out to be a lucky shot.) I also stood between it and the sun – and using the shade of my body helped a lot.

    When I was looking up larkspur most of them seem to bloom in july (which would mesh with exactly what your saying here) since these guys bloomed almost two weeks ago – my guess is one of two types that come up in march and april. But I could not tell you which one it is that’s for sure. It looks like subalpine but they don’t perk until July.

    Thanks for your kind words Terry. I appreciate them a lot. I thank technology for digital film so I can take a thousand shots if I have too and dump 999 of them. :o) As you know some of these guys are so small this is quite a task.

  4. 4 aullori

    Hi Adam, I really do appreciate your kind words (and you encouraging a burgeoning amateur.) I showed my husband your photos and his eyes grew so wide! (I told him this the not so subtle difference between gifted and lucky.) You being gifted and me being lucky that is.

    Over here the prairie star is just a bit taller than a blade of grass. They kind of beg to be photographed. (not to mention almost all of them seem to grow utterly perfect and thus, are a photographers dream in terms of subject matter.)

    I dug around quite a bit to dig up the species of the larkspur and eventually went (oh geesh) well anyone who cares to look knows the family anyway. I appreciate your comment on the composition because that was a bear. I don’t Photoshop my pics (not against it just don’t do it) and so what comes thru the lens is what I keep. It took a lot of shots of the larkspur too. (And your exactly correct it was the composition that caused all the issues and I quit when I finally was “happier” with it and not really happy with it.)

    on a lighter note I cannot take a lousy photo of my backyard (that’s probably why it’s one of my favorite things to photograph) I’m pretty lucky to live here that’s for sure!

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on the photos Adam! I cannot explain how much I appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

