Just when I thought I was impressed.

10May07

I went back up to take more shots.

I had mentioned on the wildflower page that I had a difficult time photographing the shooting star (Dodecatheon pulchellum). I finally got back up on the mountian to take a few more photos – and like all of wildlife – it once again stunned me.

shooting-star-0.jpg 

Check out what these little flowers do….

shooting-star-2.jpg

The petals actually open up (maybe a nice invite to a bumblebee perhaps?)

It seems the lesson of the last couple of days? Even little things can surprise you. It is also rumored that the Indian’s used it for medicinal purposes.

4 Responses to “Just when I thought I was impressed.”

  1. 1 montucky

    You certainly figured out how to photograph them! Those are beautiful! That’s a flower you just have to see to believe.

    I have a few more wildflower photos I’ll post a little later, but I’m not certain what a couple of them are.

  2. I can understand that – seems I’m learning all the time between the birds and the flowers. I can’t wait to see your photos I’d love to see them!

  3. Great shooting stars! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one flared out like your last photo – very cool. Shooting stars look pretty interesting when gone to seed too: see here

  4. wow that is cool Paul – capturing a seed that small had to be anything but a small feat. I loved the colors in it! (Now that’s going to get me back up on the mountain to view it – this should make my pups pretty dang happy!) Thanks for visiting and thanks for sharing your photos they were lovely!


Leave a Reply

