Hi Mom – thanks for visiting

14May07

Let me start here; I wandered around and found a lot of wildflowers – really a couple that I don’t know what the species are and so I’ll look later before I post them. However there was one that I instantly knew – well, anyway I knew where to start looking! (Brodiaea douglasii) I still don’t really think this is the exact same species but it’s dang close. (So again I’ll be digging up lilies) Boy was this a shock and a really nice surprise!  {If your bored and want the whole story follow Montucky’s link on May wild flowers, Part 3}

My grandmother was a big fan of birding and seemed to know the birds by the very sounds they made. I always found this amazing and impressive. I am not as gifted but I thought since my mom lives about 200 miles away from me I’d send her a few photos of wildflowers and birds I saw today.

 

When I get into the woodpecker family sometimes I have a difficult time figuring out what I’m looking at. This bird was no exception but he was thud-thud-thuding – got my attention and like all shy woodpeckers he allowed me one shot. I was lucky because of all the woodpeckers I’ve taken a photo of this is the first that turned out. He really is a Red-naped Sapsucker (Sphyrapicus nuchalis.)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red-naped_Sapsucker

The infamous cowbird. This species being the Brown-headed Cowbird. (Molothrus ater) These fellas were hanging out with the redwinged blackbirds that were in the yard today. These are males cowbirds. My guess is the females are around here somewhere dropping thier eggs in the nests of the other birds. The lady cowbirds have other birds raise their young – because of this they are considered a parasitic species of bird. This is difficult on the smaller birds and usually they end up sacrificing some of their own. Because cowbirds are a large bird so the smaller (mother) birds work very hard to feed the larger babies sometimes to the neglect of their own. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brown-headed_Cowbird

Okay on to a happier topic… This is the house finch and I cannot tell you how really neat this guy looks flying. His lady was at his side all day long and getting a photo of just him was tricky at best. I showed them both at the feeder so you can glimpse his lady. (Carpodacus mexicanus)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/House_finch

Then I got a pine siskin in the trees and I liked how the bird looked – kind of mysterious and thoughtful so I added him.

 

Okay I guess this guy would be the bird of the day. I’ve been trying for a couple of weeks to capture him he seems really shy in nature and disappears the minute I attempt to get a shot. It’s amazing how birds seem to think that that thing on the end of your face must be ejecting some kind of noxious spray or worse yet some projectile. Nevertheless he showed up and I finally got the shot. Here he is meet Mr. Lazuli Bunting (Passerina amoena.) Initially I had thought he was a western bluebird but from looking him up I guess it’s the white wing bars that indicates he is a lazuli.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lazuli_Bunting

5 Responses to “Hi Mom – thanks for visiting”

  1. 1 MOM

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY>>I LOVE YOU>>LORI YOU TAKE SUCH GREAT PICTURES..AND THESE BIRDS ARE AWESOME.

  2. Thanks Mom! I think it’s great you stopped by and saw these guys. I think I’m pretty lucky because no matter where I look there is something to take a picture of – I bet that’s true in the city as well. You just need more of an imagination than I have. I love you right back sunshine.

  3. 3 montucky

    Great pictures, aullori! It’s so nice to see photos from another area, although we seem to have similar flora and fauna.

    I’m happy to see that you have those hyacinths close to you, since you like them so much. I’m sure that’s the same one that I saw, but it just isn’t as open yet.

  4. I have to agree – all the ones I saw were fully opened … I can suddenly understand why you had just thought “hey, nice blue flower” until you photographed it. I had not gotten that it was so small. Your photos were so awesome that I had just assumed it was as big as a full grown lily.

    I don’t think we have as many here as you do there but they are pretty darn cute. (I only found about three in the yard)

    As a side note; Awhile back I had said that I thought it was endangered. Not that one it’s the (Triteleia grandiflora ssp. howellii) or previously known as (Brodiaea douglasii-howellii) I suddenly found tons of info under triteleia family tree. Okay okay another lesson learned.

    Today I found about six more plants that I have no clue on. :o) This is quite a hobby!

  5. 5 montucky

    It seems there is always another one to discover. I spend a lot of time just wondering why they’re here, what their purpose is, what part each one plays in the whole world of nature and wishing that so many more people could have the chance to get out into the wild country and see them.


Leave a Reply

