flowers o’ the day

22Jun07

I’ve kept up looking the flowers I got photos of and here they are….

Here is what I know about the harebell… they are featured in the fairytales of both Thumbelina, Rapunzel, and Shakespeare loved them enough to put them in his writings. To this day it’s rumored that a witch’s garden is not complete without them. This is a lot to consider when you run into this really tiny plant. (Campanula rotundifolia)

harebell

Depford Pink. (Dianthus armeria)

Deptford Pink

This one without question is a hawkweed however what kind is a bit of a mystery. My guess? (Hieracium scouleri var. scouleri) or Scouler’s Hawkweed. There are four species in my area but only one that is pretty danged fuzzy which this one was on the basal petals.

100_5834

This really was a pretty little plant I really enjoyed taking photos of this one. (Collomia grandiflora Dougl. ex Lindl.) It’s commonly known however as Grand Collomia.

100_5850

I knew if I kept looking I’d eventually figure out what this yellow flower is that is running rampant in my backyard – turns out it’s a pretty popular plant. St. John’s Wort (Hypericum formosum var. Scouleri) I wonder if the little bug flying to the flowers is showing up to alleviate depression?

st. johns wort

And lastly, a Queen’s cup (Clintonia uniflora.)

 queens cup2

4 Responses to “flowers o’ the day”

  1. 1 montucky

    Great pictures as always. I appreciate your taking the time to identify them. I confess I’ve been doing a terrible job of that myself.

    Our Harebells are out now too, and I’ve seen them from the low valley to the high country. Very pretty!

    I’ll have to look closer for the Depford Pink. I may have been overlooking it because it’s about the same color as the sticky geranium.

    That’s a terrific shot of the Grand Collomia! Beautiful flower and beautiful composition! That’s really nice! I’ll be sure to watch for them here.

    I like the Queen’s Cup, too. Interestingly, on my hike yesterday that was the second picture I took. They’re really pretty!

  2. It’s rumored that the depford pink is actually a close relation to the carnation. This one stood out very nicely because of it’s color – I was incapable of missing it.

    Queens cups are really pretty – there are quite a few of them on the banks of the creek. I found them very difficult to photograph – that white kept washing out the details. I love the contrast of the green with the white tho so I kept going back until I got a pose I liked.

    Thanks for stopping by once again!

  3. Very nice! This set of flowers reminds me of what should be in bloom now near my family’s cabin (esp. the queen cup, collomia, and st. john’s wort). Alas, I won’t be able to make it up there during the bloom this year, grrr. I’ve never seen the Depford Pink – you captured its colors & form very well!

  4. Thank you – the depford pink – is a really tiny guy but quite eye catching (just a tad smaller than the collornia.) I’m going to look your photos over again so I can catch sight of these then. Especially of that one because I found composing the plant tricky at best.


Leave a Reply

