back to the flowers

24Jul07

… not back to the future but the past actually. Awhile back I had hiked high on the mountain. My hiking days are at a standstill for the moment because I actually burnt my feet. I’d post the photo of my oddly discolored toes but I’m afraid some of you might not want to see. Trust me, these photos are much more beautiful! (No worries mates – I can walk on my feet I just can’t wear shoes.)

flower

This flower I’ve isolated to those in the stonecrop family – but when attempting to figure the exact species I’m pretty much at a loss.

dogbane

Common Snowberry (Symphoricarpos albus.) Here is another shot.

spreading dogbane

Here are the local wild roses we have. Most likely it’s the Pearhip Rose (Rosa woodsii var. ultramontana) However, it’s a little difficult to isolate. Wild roses look very similar – what I do know it is a wild rose.

primrose

I’ve been looking for this elusive fellow for quite awhile but I think it’s blushing wild buckwheat? (Eriogonum ursinum var. erubescens)

100_6852

Okay peace to all! Hopefully you’ll recall any corrections would be highly appreciated!

18 Responses to “back to the flowers”

  1. Beautiful flowers.

  2. Can’t help on the ID, but I sure know they are very nice, the last one(buckwheat) are really nice. Well done.

  3. 3 montucky

    Great minds think alike! I had put together a post that also included a shot of the Stonecrop, but like you I’m not sure which of the 300 species it is. Also the dogbane: I’ve been trying to figure that one out for nearly a month. The one I photographed sure has the same leaves. That’s a beautiful photo of the rose! I just love those. Now I’ll have to look for the buckwheat: I’ve not seen that around here. Great shots!

  4. Thanks Paintingartist – it’s amazing what nature has in her backpocket.

  5. Hi Montucky – the sulfur buckwheat (if that is what it is after all :o) is really quite photogenic. I watched this fellow slowly grow over the season and it never had a blossom – all of those are tiny colored pods. Thanks for visiting.

  6. Hi Bernie, I growled at the stonecrop – what fabulous color it produces but yep, id’ing seems completely impossible. There are less species of dogbane (that the good news) The only reason I’m sure it’s dogbane is because it produced the foamy milky sap (mostly thru the flowers) when it got hot out. But I wouldn’t bet the mortgage on it. I’d love to see your photos! I look forward to you post on these funky flowers.

  7. Lovely shots, Aullori, especially the buckwheat & dogbane. Your IDs look about right, but I don’t know what specific species any of ’em are.

    Stonecrop in California is relatively easy, since there are only a handful of species to choose from.

    Your buckwheat doesn’t look like sulfur flower to me, at least not as it grows here. Our sulfur flower (E. umbellatum) is bright solid yellow.

    It won’t be as useful to you as it is to me, but I find cross-checking things at CalFlora (http://calphotos.berkeley.edu/) is very useful.

  8. Thank you Paul – actually that was quite helpful. Usually I work of a list on my local county but the plant that I’m pretty sure it is now – isn’t on my list. ahh… and god forbid I actually work outside the box. :o) When I played around the site with the Eriogonum family it took awhile but the one that seems very very similar is this Eriogonum ursinum var. erubescens. I’m pretty solid on this id now. The common name being Blushing Wild Buckwheat. Thank you so much. Consider it altered and thank you for the help! (p.s. I ran thru my county list of Eriogonum plants and none of them matched. Who knows maybe they just missed this one?) (The lower brush, the stem and flowers look just like that plant.) Thanks again for your priceless help!!!

  9. p.s. by best guess on the stonecrop is lanceleaf stonecrop (Sedum lanceolatum.)

  10. Plant butterfly garden landscapes to beautify your yard and enhance your garden, and you’ll soon be enjoying the wonders of butterflies throughout your garden. A lot of accidents are brought on merely because the driver failed to notice that the fuel was dangerously very low. For the back-yard border consider trees either maroon or gold in color to decorate a long-line of deciduous trees and evergreens.

  11. There are endless options when it comes to buying PLR products
    and creating your own products. This is, of course, the hardest and longest part, but by renaming all your chapter headings you already know where
    you want to go with each section. This is where you can flex your creative and
    selling muscles.

  12. 12 Penny

    You have probably asked yourself time and time again, what is the best hair loss product
    available. The fact of the matter is that there are quite a few hair oils available these days to the public.
    Dermatologists and physicians trained in skin and hair disorders can make a correct
    diagnosis from clinical appearance of the bald patches on the scalp
    and other hair bearing areas.

  13. Paleo foods include low fat proteins and healthy fats and this always seems
    like an irony when cavemen then had life span of 25 years but then
    they never died because of heart attack, high blood pressure or diabetes.
    Paleo diet menu: Ingredients and food combinations: This menu only allows fresh fruits and vegetables, fish,
    raised meat, nuts and seeds and totally restricts the use of grains, oil and dairy products, all the junk and fried food.

    Disclaimer: All medical information needs to be carefully reviewed with your
    health care provider.

  14. The author and her husband, just like any other couples, did not prioritize having
    children especially at the early stage of their marriage.
    very good to me all the support tickets were responded to very
    shortly. Keep to a variety of basic fresh fruit and vegetables as this is kind to your budget too.

  15. As a result, engine parts rub and grind together which creates friction
    and heat inside the engine. Skilled workmanship is also an important quality that shops should possess.
    Trained mechanics can repair any type of vehicle in no time.

  16. To avoid any tasks in the garden that require any bending there are some great
    alternatives to your everyday trowels and forks. It’s called Cynthia, generally often known as a painted lady butterfly larva, or caterpillar. Don’t lose heart if you are faced with a dry spell.

  17. I got this website from my friend who shared with me on the topic of this web page and now this time
    I am browsing this site and reading very informative posts here.


  1. 1 seeking inspiration « Random Musings

Leave a Reply

