Rain.. finally

07Aug07

In the last two days the rainstorms finally came. They are odd rainstorms however, the first one came in lasted a total of three minutes and left. An hour later we had a repeat – harsh wind and rain lasting about three minutes. This has been an off and on again thing for the last couple of days. {Can you believe I’m discussing the weather? Geesh what a bore!}

Normally this would mean very little but these little tiny miniature rain storms came in and made us initially very happy. Yeah – finally rain!  However, they stop too soon, bring too little rain and have busted up quite a few things.

The first was the power on the mountain – no one on our mountain had power for about twelve hours. (Pretty common when you live in the country. You learn to back up your files often.)

The second was the tree that fell right in between our garages. {My hubby has two “man caves” – how do you say my cup runneth over?} The wind dropped a sixteen foot tree and tore out the electricity line to the second garage.

The third was a decent sized chunk of the aluminum siding off the second garage just peeled off.

But it brought rain right? Much needed rain to a landscape all covered in brown, in a known dangerous wildfire area, but the rain was so short lived it actually just created humidity. So the water just dissipated before it really soaked into the ground. So, the landscape did not get what it needed. Instead of actually making the ground wet and helping the foliage we’ve just been sweating a lot.

And lastly, it brought lightning and thunder and it became more of a concern than a God send.

In the end it created some pretty cool sky effects that might be worthy of showing off…. So here’s some photos of the sky. Oh yeah, and as you can tell – we have a lot of work to do.

This is the sky off the front porch.

rainy sky 2

This is the sky off the back deck.

rainy sky

And lastly, here’s a bit of of the foliage that I was speaking about that could use a little moisture.

rainysky3

7 Responses to “Rain.. finally”

  1. The rain has finally stopped here, now it’s very hot, and I hate heat. So I am anxiously waiting for fall and one of my favorite times of the year. We had a lot of storm damage here as well, but we had over 5 inches of rain to go along with it, wish I could have sent you part of it. Love the images of the clouds, I am heading to South Florida on Friday for about ten days hoping to get some big cumulus cloud shots myself. Nice work and btw thanks for the link on that funky plant, I think I kind of liked it, it was different and it made your imagination run into overdrive but it was a very original and creative image.

  2. Hi Bernie!

    I look forward to your shot from Florida. Sometimes I have a heck of a time with composition on these kinds of shots and so, I’d love to check out a masters work!

    As for the weather; it only goes to prove that alas my three year study on rain-dancing has proven futile!

    I’m glad you liked the link – both your photo and his made me blush a bit. Which is an odd reaction when taking a gander at plant life. 😉 On some surrealist level, it actually felt like an invasion of privacy. Scary how my mind works!

  3. 3 montucky

    Beautiful cloud shots! I’m so looking forward to a good rain, even if it does mean a loss of power for awhile. I got to see a small thunderstorm today and felt just a few drops of rain, but nothing to put in the record books.

  4. Hi Montucky, sounds like your getting the same tease as we are. I hope we both have a good twelve hour rain to clean out the cobwebs if nothing else, something that would just settle the dust down! Like Bernie mention we always have the fall to look forward too…..

  5. Clouds, perhaps my favorite subject to study. They have such grand beauty. Nice captures. Glad to hear you are getting some rain.

  6. Thank you paintingartist

  7. Everything published was very reasonable.
    However, what about this? what if you added a little information?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, however what if you added something that makes people desire more? I mean Rain.. finally | Random Musings is a little boring. You might peek at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create news headlines to get people to open the links.
    You might try adding a video or a picture or two to grab readers interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it might bring your blog a little livelier.


Leave a Reply

