Quick like a bunny….

23Aug07

Hey, hi! I’ll toss up a few photos of birds and then literally gush about a small trip we’ll be making. I live just about spitting distance from Sherman Pass. And we’ll be traveling in probably the second prettiest part of Washington (in my opinion of course) It’s a long drive over to the Seattle area in which all along the way you can look from Washington up into Canada. I think at some point I had promised a photo of this to one of my English pals online. To show them how you can see the boarder by looking at the tree line. I find it pretty fascinating. My second favorite area (second only to my backyard) is Washington Pass. I’ll see if I can get a couple decent shots.

Okay a few photos and I’ll see you all in about a week or so.

grosbeak

100_96381

I think these two birds are black headed grosbeak during the molting process. What is odd is in Sibley’s guide only one photo shows the beak this bright yellow-orange and with the pal he (or she) was hanging with you can see the beak changing color slowly attempting to turn black.  It says in the guide that you can learn quite a bit about the molting process by watching these birds. (To be honest…. identifying others at this stage has been difficult at best.)

1204759357_828c535284_o

A quick hummingbird shot while on my feeder.

And lastly, Queen Anne’s Lace. It took me quite awhile to find out what this wildflower was that was growing around my yard when all the others had died off – eventually I ran into a blog and the author informed me of it’s identity. I hope he’s right and thus, I’m correct as well. I found the way it grew so fascinating (some of the plants are as high as my shoulder which would make them about three feet long) and the way the flower is closed up I just found amazing.

queen's anne lace

And here it is opened.

flower2

It really is a delicate and beautiful flower.

Okay enough of me – you all have a great week!

11 Responses to “Quick like a bunny….”

  1. nice shots! cute humming bird.

  2. 2 montucky

    That first photo is spectacular! Wow!

    Have a great trip! Stay safe!

  3. Wonderful images Lori, I really like the Queen Ann’s Lace, hope you have a great time. Can’t wait to see some of your images when you get back, be safe.

  4. Beautiful pics.

    I love the bird pics and the bottom flower is gorgeous.

    Have a safe trip. Maybe one day I’ll have the pleasure of seeing Washington. I can’t wait to see more pics.

  5. I’ve always liked Queen Anne’s Lace, especially before it opens fully. Really nice work there, Lori.

  6. I just love the grosbeak photo and whatever kind of hummingbird that is! Keep up the great work!

  7. Wishing you safe travels, and I look forward to reading and seeing all about it! Great photos too!

  8. Wow thanks! I got back fast cuz we didn’t have anyone to babysit the pups. Next time Montucky I’m dropping them off at your house. 🙂 seriously 😉 I’m just teasing. Monarch for the moment I’m stealing your method of answering I hope you take it as imitation being the highest form of flattery. 🙂

    @ ankush thanks I get lucky once in awhile. Come back and visit I’ll be by your page way more often.
    @ Thanks Montucky I just love those grosbeaks – with this one and I’m sure it’s a lady (the hint bit of yellow in the breast) – I actually pulled out the tripod, focused it a bit beyond my cameras capabilities and went, aww what the hell – it’ll take a second to dump it. I can’t believe it worked! 🙂
    @ Bernie Hopefully I didn’t disappoint. I’m digging thru my shots this evening. I agree that queen anne’s lace is really lovely another flower I fell in love with. I’m glad I went I remembered why I love Washington so much!
    @Painting artist; Thank you. Some things are really photogenic – even flowers can work out that way. You come by this area and we’ll have a steak on the barbeque for you and your little gal.
    @ photobuffet – you know me too… That is completely what captivated me! Thank you.
    @ Monarch – the hummer (I believe) is a black chinned lady – she’s got a bit of a red cast from the feeder. Thank you and a compliment from you means just about everything!
    @ Adam – Hi! None of my photos will stack up to yours but I took shots like the world was coming to an end. 🙂 We’ll see if anything else if I got lucky.

  9. 9 Becky

    Hi I wrote to you back the end of last year about your musings on Orient. I love the pictures you have posted. My husband is a professional photographer and I can see you have quite an eye. I was very interested in the berries you photographed. Have you had a chance to taste and or make jam with the chockcherries around the area. We loved them as kids, also the boysenberries (sp??) My dad made wine with those one year…never did that again LOL. I in particular miss the huckleberries. They are by far natures best product and I have never tasted better then the hand picked ones from my youth in Washington.

  10. Hi Becky, I’ve eaten boysenberries and I love them. When I was a child I had a bush in my backyard and we spent the summer cleaning it out pretty darn good. Huckleberries are natures most perfect food I completely agree with you there. I could not collect them this year or a photo of them this year. My feet got a grease burn so I was laid up for two weeks… two weeks of huckleberry season and thus.. the birds, and many animals had cleaned the bushes out. I was so disappointed! I never had made a jam from choke cherries but intend to this next year. Thank you for visiting and come back anytime.

  11. 11 Becky

    Too bad about huckleberry season and your feet, I hope they feel better now. I guess that is why huckleberries are so good, they’re season is really fast. I wanted to let you know why I stumbled onto your blog here. I am writing a book about my family in Washington, you see my Dad built a home up on Kelly Hill in 1973 and we grew up in that area. You can read about my parent’s Kelly Hill home in the Mother Earth News, an article was published on in 1974, it was issue #28. Anyway I was looking for information about Orient for research when your site came up. I’ve enjoyed it ever since. Becky


Leave a Reply

