Okay here goes…

12Nov07

Painting artist (Boyd Greene) wanted to see a bit on the quilt I’m working on. Thanks for asking. I keep offhandedly mentioning the work without any photos and I suppose that isn’t very fair. Right now I’m working on three projects. I find that I work faster and better if I keep pressing away at different projects.

For some reason even unknown to me is my hesitancy of posting my quilts. Even I find this feeling a bit odd but here goes anyway…

First, this is a pattern called card tricks. It’s modern but the one I’m working on right now to finish out the binding. I built this to learn the triangle and it worked really well for that purpose.

100_6368

“Finishing out the binding” Really is the last step on a quilt as you hand sew the binding onto the back of the quilt. This one is taking a bit of time because the quilt is queen sized.

100_6357

and an even closer shot…

100_6337

Meanwhile, like all craftsmen and women I’ve got lots of projects on the table. The card tricks one is the one that is about two days from finally finishing.

My next one to finish? Needs binding, quilting oh yeah, and *blush* ironing too…

A Jacob’s Ladder pattern combined with personally adapted Arkansas Crossroads. “Crossroads to Home” which is what I tend to call this quilt. I did this one to honor women in the past who quilt. The pattern is loosely linked to the history of slavery in America. (It’s debated that the Jacob’s Ladder pattern was originated at this time however, it’s significance in the connection to women who later built these quilts in support of the freedom of slaves is indisputable.) So, trying to tackle out a bit of American history and combine it with the “crossroads” concept is where I decided to go with this quilt.

100_6378

Here is the close up…

100_6375

…and then a step back to show the design. The details once finished will stand out much better but like I said it so far is unfinished.

The simple concept behind this creation is my fascination with women supporting the freedom of the slaves, enough to sell quilts, stand as a united front at times and to utilize them as symbols to guide the runaways and why? To quietly sew in a corner such a quilt yet still not carrying the right to vote… Much of the history, mostly oral, is highly disputed. There are some who say that putting a quilt on a fence post happened to guide slaves was a fact handed down through oral tradition. There was no real written record of quilting before 1930’s except the actual existence of the quilts. There are those who insist it never happened but was later romanticised. I wonder….

Thus, the quilt carries the fundamental concept of the mystery of women in general. Are we romantic enough to produce a “mythical history” that was unpopular because of the common racism in the 1930’s? And if so what does that say about women in general? No matter how the facts really came down what I am taken with was the sympathetic nature of many women during a time in history who’s efforts were often lost to moths in a closet, tossed out when the blanket was done warming a stranger, or simply just lost altogether.  I think this says something beautiful about women and how they chose to love others.

Hope that helps for visuals, on the side I’m still creating my patriotic stars, that one is a story in the making… but they all start out that way….

17 Responses to “Okay here goes…”

  1. Thank you Lori for the link love and for the great pics and information on quilting.

    Being from the country I love quilts and anything homemade. I think everyone should learn to work with their hands. It amazes me how quilters keep the lines so perfect.

    Great history lesson Lori and women have greatly influenced the hearts of many men throughout history. It would be scary without their words of kindness.

    Seward’s wife in the Civil War had a great influence on him repeatedly pleading with him to inact laws to free the slaves.

    Great article and thanks again Lori!

  2. 2 montucky

    Those will be beautiful works, Lori. Quilts are one of my favorite attractions to our county fair and I’m happy to say there are still a lot of entries around here. They are an art and a very special craft, one that blends a woman’s love with history and practicality. Thanks for posting the photos!

  3. Painting artist, my pleasure. I became excited about quilt-making when I ran into old patterns done by women in the Adirondacks. (no sizing just a drawing) It had made me rethink women of the past. I kept drafting (and redrawing and redrafting and redrawing..) the patterns, thinking of the best way to sew it… and it became some of the most complex math I’ve ever done. I swore out loud, “how could they, they couldn’t even read… what the…” So much for thinking our ladies of history to be ignorant.

    Later I read a story of a group of women against slavery, who all signed their quilt to show this and was “silenced” from their church for thirteen years because of the act – they never retracted their statements or ideas they just stayed silent in the church for thirteen years until the people took them back.

    I came to realize in a roundabout way this was the oldest accepted art form for women and how can I not respect that? Again thanks for asking … maybe it was something I should have talked about a long time ago. I love the unassuming nature of these ladies, in solitude and quiet, not expecting center stage just making something to keep their family and neighbors warm. Anyone with a heart has to respect that – even me. 😉

  4. Thanks Montucky, I hesitate to call it art (tho there are “art quilts” hanging all over the Smithsonian Institute but that’s a bit lofty for me and not my goal) my goals like you mention are much more practical. Warm my family and guests, thank a friend, offer a meaningful gift. Thank you for the kind words and I’m glad you liked the photos.

    p.s. interestingly enough; west quilts are really sought after. There is a logical reason for this; they wore out faster than the women could make them. In our area they were used for wall hangings on log cabins (to keep out the draft) they were tacked to the top of wagon trains, for the same reason. Thus most were destroyed very early on however, when they are found it is some of the best stitching in the world. Reason? those ladies had a lot of practice.

  5. Your quilts are beautiful, much like your photo’s. Such talent!

  6. Thank you *blush* I like your blog (a lot!) I’ll spend the next couple of days reading through it a bit more.

  7. Good Heavens! I am so impressed!

  8. 8 fairycross

    Lovely post and beautiful quilting 🙂

  9. It’s always interesting to read about the meaning quilts had in the lives of our ancestors. Thanks for sharing and I love your quilt.
    Kaye Wood kayewood.com

  10. Wow, hats off to you for your lovely work in a most difficult and time-consuming medium!

  11. Hi Nouveaufaves, I’m glad you stopped by! Thanks for the compliment.

  12. Thank you fairy, let me know how you come to adore your new camera… if it does some amazing macro shots I’d love to know about it. 🙂

  13. Thank you Kaye and thank you for stopping by.

  14. Hi Adam!! I’ve decided that since we don’t have many birds right now next project is to quilt them. (Still playing that project out in my mind.) Tulips and humming birds? wood peckers and daisies? dunno yet… I’ve got some drawings on the boards tho. :o) I can’t thank you enough for your inspiration in this next project. Well, see how it goes and before I start talking about how your wonderful photos have inspired me quite a bit!

  15. Beautiful work Lori, don’t be humble, it is art and very lovely at that 🙂

  16. Thanks Bernie,:) You always make me smile no matter if I’m looking at your work or if I’m reading your comments. Thank you.

    You know… if nothing else can be said, my son’s pal came over this weekend and watch “sponge-bob square-pants” with the first quilt all wrapped around himself while he awaited bacon, eggs and hash browns. On that day I was happy. I finally finished it and this guy just snuggled in and got busy being warm. No matter what happens overall I think with quilting that is the end gift. Someone who snuggles without thinking about it and who is hesitant to actually leave that warmth… then I’ve accomplished something! 😉


  1. 1 Okay here goes… | hgdomain-names

Leave a Reply

