offering free time to the large & the small

03Mar08

Here are a couple of shots I took on Feb 20th on the eclipse. We watched it in bitter 19 degree weather.

IMG_3337

6:14 p.m. PST

IMG_3396

6:32 p.m. PST

Okay I did get much better shots of the mountain chickadee. Here he is showing me that attitude I mentioned in another post. I guess if your that handsome you can afford to have attitude!

Mountian Chickadee

Mountain Chickadee

14 Responses to “offering free time to the large & the small”

  1. 1 nouveaufauves

    I just LOVE them all! Thanks for posting them. You are so GOOD at this photographing of birds and moons.

  2. 2 montucky

    Excellent shots! I especially like the Chickadees. I just can’t get enough of them and those shots are really good!

  3. That Chickadee has the whole world by his tail, doesn’t he?

  4. Both the moon and Chickadee photos are wonderful! But without a doubt the Chickadee ones are my faves!

  5. Thanks nouveaufauves, I like photographing both the moon and the birds. (It’s easy to take pictures when everything is see is so darn beautiful.) Thank you for your visit!

  6. Thanks Montucky, like I said earlier it helps when they are mad at me (like I’m pretty sure this guy was.) πŸ™‚ I’ve found myself completely addicted too. Now I’m hoping to go to a higher elevation and try to find a boreal one – rumor has it they live in these parts.

  7. Barbara, yes, he certainly acts like it. I cannot (right now) add sound effects but this is pretty much what he looks like when he’s bawling me out. It’s funny to me how a bird can make me feel little. πŸ™‚ Kinda cute too.

  8. I actually felt compelled to post this little guy for you Monarch. Like I said in my last comments a lot of your actions kind of kick me into gear to try new things. (Some effective and others not so much) In this case it was. So I actually feel like I should thank you. I learn so much from your posts!

  9. beautiful shots, love the birds, you really have a thing for shooting birds, you are very good at it…

  10. Ankush – I like shooting birds for two reasons. I’m a birder and second, it is without question the most difficult of all shoots. I guess on some level if I can get birds I can get anything. Thank you.

  11. Love the 1st & last photos – the catchlight in the MOCH’s eye really brings it to life!

  12. I have always wanted to see a Mountain Chickadee they are gorgeous!

  13. Thanks Adam! He’s a cutie for sure – they look so smokey or sooty in comparison to the black-capped version. Thank your for your kind words.

  14. In your birding career Naturalist J – I’d expect it to happen. The first time I had seen one I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me and wondered if I had gotten enough sleep the night before. πŸ™‚ Course you all have those cool swans over there… those would be a sight for me!


Leave a Reply

