a solid sign of spring……

10Mar08

IMG_6748

p.s. Before I completely forget – getting old is tricky on the mind. Janet once again came to my rescue and identified the species of this wasp. It is (drum roll please) and I quote…

“Ah! Polistes dominulus … paper wasp.” ~ Janet Wilkin’s from A Little Bit o’ Everything.

20 Responses to “a solid sign of spring……”

  1. 1 montucky

    You’re right, that’s a positive sign!

  2. Ah! Polistes dominulus … paper wasp. A biology professor of mine would be proud of you for taking this photo! I did some illustrations of its “behavior” for my professor and learned A LOT in the process. Very nice image and definitely a sign of spring!

  3. Sure is a wonderful sign of spring!

  4. Mmm. I know I am anxious for spring, but I don’t have to be happy to see insects, do I? Nice capture though.

  5. Hi Montucky, she was sluggish but I’m betting yours are waking up too! and you’ve got the flowers to feed them already!

  6. Janet once again you resuce me! thank you for the ID. I vaguely looked the bug up; your comment was astounding. I laugh because over in these parts there are hornets, wasps, bees and yellow jackets. And hold a gun to my head I can ID a yellow jacket and bee. 🙂 You get me into the hornet and wasp area and I sound like a blundering idiot. Thank you for the help! p.s. usually when I was close up enough to a nest to look (like a paper wasp nest) I was running away pretty quickly.

  7. Thanks for visiting again Naturalist J; when the bugs come so do the really neat birds. I’m pretty hyped about the Western Kingbirds coming back and look for them every day. Those are the ones I miss the most.

  8. Very cool shot! Although I would go click . . swat!! Was a good sign of spring! LOL, only kidding!

  9. Barbara, all I can say if that’s the biggest compliment you can pay to this pretty little gal (the bug not me) I’d say you need to get out of the city more often. 😉 just teasing thanks for visiting.

  10. Monarch – you got me giggling there. I’d like to actually spend more time this season catching up on bugs. I love how the camera can get in on these tiny creatures. (real photo? legal paper size) I can understand the urge! (I did however, in hopes that she might be a meal for something else let her live.)

  11. Uh, Aullori…I don’t really LIVE in a city. I just don’t much like insects that STING! 🙂

  12. You are really bugging me with this Lori….:)

    That was bad wasn’t it…Nice shot!

  13. That’s a great close-up of a critter lots of folks wouldn’t want to get very close to!

  14. I really was just teasing you Barbara! It’s cute that your such a good sport. 🙂

  15. Bernie, I have to tell you I live by one motto a bad pun is always better than no pun. (okay honestly speaking probably I live by two or three motto’s but these days they just don’t come to me fast anymore!)

  16. That is a fact Adam, it helped a lot that the season is just starting she was pretty groggy and thank you.

  17. nice macro

  18. I love closeup photography of small creatures and plants. Glad you caught this little one and didn’t kill her – hope she is now freely buzzing around 🙂 Hopefully not stinging anyone though. Live and let live I say… (most of the time)

  19. Thanks Ankush, I tried to give it that portrait look. I think it worked out very well.

  20. Hi Zenuria, I’m with you on the live and let live. They are all necessary I believe. I only fall down to killing black widows outside of my bedroom. BW Spiders & rattle snakes give me a fright! But rattle snakes are okay – they don’t mind just being avoided and in my experince are quite shy. (Now you all have the really dangerous snakes!)


Leave a Reply

