The Tricky Parts of Birding…

21Mar08

American Robin Hiding in Rained on Fir Tree

American Robin (hiding in our rained on fir tree) Now a person can see why birding can sometimes be a little difficult.

Female Varied Thrush

and then there’s getting the classic shots of the shy birds….

Below Female Varied Thrush

Today though; the little female Varied Thrush let me take a picture of her underbelly. Which offers another tricky part of making an ID – when this is the view I often get – the underbelly.

Flock Crossbills

….or this view where they are way too high… Another tricky aspect? Well sometimes if they like the food you offer a lot they come in droves and you begin to fill feeders on a daily basis. I can pick out some red crossbills and I think a grosbeak in here however beyond that my ID’ing skills really lack.

evening grosbeak

And then the new kid on the block. He was at my feeder this morning. I have to show you his back here…

evening grosbeak

The new kids means two things; first, the goal of getting a better shot. (Great now I have to get up at five am and hope he does too.) And it means it’s time to study. He was taken from my kitchen window (explains the not so great shot) and he is an Evening Grosbeak. I’m thrilled he came, last summer I had so much fun taking photos of the blackheaded grosbeak that I hope this guy learns it’s safe at my feeder. And I hope he honors me with the ability to take some good shots of him too.

Here is a photo of a Blackheaded Grosbeak in case your curious. (taken last summer)

14 Responses to “The Tricky Parts of Birding…”

  1. 1 montucky

    You are already getting some interesting birds in to the feeder, much more variety than we’ve seen yet. And you’re so right that birds are about as difficult to photograph as they are to identify. The thrush is a pretty little thing!

  2. Look at ALL your birds! I saw my first robin this morning. 🙂

  3. Love the grosbeaks and the thrush shot . . WOW! Top class for sure! I would love to see one here some day!

  4. You have such a tremendous variety of birds at your feeders! One cannot help but be envious. You’ve much improved the image of the Varied Thrush, its feathering is so clear. And don’t you just love those Evening Grosbeaks?! I haven’t had those at my feeders for at least fifteen or twenty years!!!

    Thanks for posting these photos, you’re giving me my first “sightings” of many western species of birds! 🙂

  5. Montucky, the evening grosbeak was a shocker and I almost missed him. I was standing at my window and went (something is wrong there…..) it was really all about a gut check and I was shocked when I saw him through my camera lens. The thrush is lovely! I’m stunned she has become so “friendly” with me. To give you an idea how shy those birds are; tho I’ve seen here I only saw her mate once and he immediately flew away.

  6. Right on Barbara, sounds like despite your weathermen (and ladies) spring is insisting on visiting you too! I can’t wait to see your photos of it!

  7. Thanks Monarch, I really really hope I can catch that grosbeak again… and with a better shot. Talk about a shy fellow!

  8. Hi Janet, The grosbeak was a first for me! I hope he hangs out and I get to see the lady and juvenile versions as well. For some reason they really dig the black sunflower seeds I put up and the consistent visits seem to be every other day. (I’m not complaining tho; they are fun to watch!)

  9. The Grosbeak is amazing Lori, you have a great collection of bird images, they are all wonderful !! 🙂

  10. You are doing wonderful with these and love seeing your Evening Grosbeaks! Keep up the great work!

  11. Hi Bernie, I really wish I could have captured the guy a little closer but I feel really good. It is after all only March – plenty of time to get a better shot. Thank you for visiting by the way!

  12. Thanks Monarch!

  13. 13 Nouveau fauves

    What unusual markings the grosbeak has. I have never seen one and this photo is as close as I ever will come I am sure.

  14. I personally was stunned myself Nouveau fauves, I’m still researching trying to figure out why he got such an unusual name? Do they usually come out in the evening, or sing in the evening… I’m looking into it. Maybe it will help me capture a better shot.


Leave a Reply

