Today’s Play….

01Apr08

It’s late so I’ll spare the talk and just get down to the photographs…..

First shot; this was an adult Bald Eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) however, he was directly in front of the sun. I liked the way the silhouette looked so I kept it. FYI: I did check on the 2nd year juveniles and they seem to be doing really well.

incoming eagle

Then I wanted to share these; two other Red Crossbill shots (Loxia curvirostra.) Both of these are the same male but gives a better idea of how very colorful the male is there is no “shopping” or alteration in color on any shots today. Yes, he is just about that pretty!

Red Crossbill

Red Crossbill

And my favorite white-tail deer (Odocoileus virginianus) shot of the day….

White-Tail Deer

I guess she does not like her picture taken either….

p.s. I thought I’d better throw in a new bird. This is without question my favorite bird and what I would in a relaxed manner consider my totem. The Black-billed Magpie (Pica hudsonia).

Black-billed Magpie

Okay sleepy time! I hope you all have a wonderful and peaceful day!

6 Responses to “Today’s Play….”

  1. 1 Bo

    The silhouette of the eagle is awesome. Our eagles have abandoned the river until next fall.

    The crossbill is a gorgeous guy, but I do love the magpie best.

  2. Hi Bo! 🙂 I love Magpies – Montucky had told me they aren’t very popular however, I am a huge fan! I know they scavenge with the biggest and the best. I’ve seen a few on a carcass screaming at eagles. (That made me laugh the eagle were four times the size of that brave bird!)

  3. 3 zenuria

    Oh, oh you have deer running around nearby. How I envy you. Everything looks so foreign to an Australian – even your magpie doesn’t look at all like our magpies. And magpies are one of my favourite birds too! There are thousands around my area and I love waking to their warble each morning. They look at me as I walk past and I feel sure they have something to say to me if only I had the ears to hear.

    I must visit your neck of the woods one day… it greatly appeals to me 🙂

  4. 4 montucky

    Those are all really good shots. I especially like the eagle. That’s just fantastic! The crossbill is very colorful. I saw the ones that came in here only that one day. One had the bright colors in your photo, but the other two had yellow instead of the orange.

  5. Hi Zenuria, lots of deer actually…. I understand how you feel I’d love to take photographs in your neck of the woods! Just to see wild parrots is worth would be completely worth the air fare. If you do ever come this way I expect you to stop in for dinner!

  6. Thanks Montucky, FYI: the yellow ones are the ladies & reddish orange birds are the fellows. I’m still trying to determine how to separate the pine siskins from the crossbills in terms of the babies tho… (I think I may have gotten a shot yesterday…) 🙂 Thank you for the compliments!


Leave a Reply

