At the Feeder….

09Apr08

Many of the birds I’ve mentioned are still hanging out and being cool. The Dark-eye’d Juncos, Finches (house and cassins), Siskins, Blackcapped Chickadees, an occasional sighting of both the Pgymy and Red-breasted Nuthatch, Spotted Towhees and Mourning Doves. The good news was this morning the Evening Grosbeaks were back! I tried to take sneaky snapshots of them and when that didn’t work I got a little bolder and thankfully they did not mind. I’m still shocked at how many Northern Flicker I run into – down in Kettle Falls as well as in my backyard. They are just so darn shy. I’ve only seen one Pileated Woodpecker however, I hear them all the time. They are sticking to the creek.  So today since the Evening Grosbeaks were so kind to let me get some photographs of them I’ll host them today. The birds are just amazing to me – I love a grosbeak however, this is my first experience with these birds at my feeder.

Evening Grosbeak

Male Evening Grosbeak

Female Evening Grosbeak

Female Evening Grosbeak

Female Evening Grosbeak

The same female

Evening Grosbeak

And here is the same male getting ready to drop down to the feeder

Cassin Finch

And here is a shot of one of the many Cassin Finch that come down to feed as well. So far I’m pretty happy with those who are visiting. I wish (still) I could have gotten a better shot of the pygmy nuthatches but maybe that’s another day’s post. Even if one male and female Evening Grosbeak are the only ones who visit I’m pretty happy with that – I felt so lucky I found them this morning.

Okay off to take the pups for a walk. Blessings to all of you!

13 Responses to “At the Feeder….”

  1. 1 montucky

    The Grosbeaks are really pretty! We get a few that visit in the summer, but they don’t stay around long. Haven’t seen any yet this year.

  2. I would love to see these Grosbeaks again before summer starts! I had a local friend today tell me that they had one at their feeder! There is a chance!! Thanks for sharing these photos with us!

  3. Hi Montucky, the first time I saw one of these guys I was pretty stunned. I’m happy they’ve decided to stay awhile – that is if they are the original birds seen earlier. 🙂

  4. Hi Monarch, as friendly as you are to local birds I’d say you’ve got a great chance!

  5. wow, wow, wow! What beauties, they all are! That fourth shot is a stunning piece of photography, by the way!

  6. Great photos of a bird I’ve never seen! I wonder – do they have a beautiful song? The grosbeak I’m most familiar with is the Black-headed, and it has the most lovely song you can imagine.

  7. Thank you Sumedh! These are (luckily) some easy subjects – well other then the constant movement. 🙂

  8. Adam – actually no way is it not as pretty as the blackheaded counterpart. This is the only link I can find where the song works;

    http://identify.whatbird.com/obj/315/_/Evening_Grosbeak.aspx

    I’ve actually noticed there is no song to speak of just a series of high and low whistles and chirps.

    I do agree BTW – the blackheaded has an amazingly pretty song! I’m hoping they still visit me this year.

  9. These bird pictures are just amazing. I have visited here several times. I love to see your birds. Thank you for posting them.

  10. Beautiful grosbeak images! Nicely done.

  11. Thank you nouveaufauves! What a sweet comment! The birds are just too darn photogenic than words can express!

  12. Thanks you Zen and especially for the honor of your visit. I really do love your bird updates and merging your beliefs with your birds. You are a person just about anyone would want to try to emulate!


  1. 1 Pages tagged "feeder"

Leave a Reply

