hummers.. yipee!

26Apr08

*Phew* One of my favorite photographic subjects just returned; the hummers. I was lucky actually that two different guys came in before it got too dark to shoot last night. I’m thrilled they are back – I haven’t seen many so setting out one feeder works perfectly fine until they start showing up in droves.

Okay I gotta run because the kids and I are going geocaching today. I have never posted a lot on that subject and always intended too. Hopefully I’ll get some good shots today to introduce this to others online.  Peace and hopefully you all have a beautiful day!

calliope hummingbird

The little Calliope Hummingbird that visited us.

Rufous Hummingbird

The little Rufous Hummingbird that visited us.

I was actually laughing a bit I bet when on these photos the birds are probably something like a 1:1 ratio of the birds. Looking at it I think in these shots the birds are actually a bit bigger. I’m going to have to measure this someday it might be interesting to find out.

Okay…off to play in the woods!

17 Responses to “hummers.. yipee!”

  1. Hummingbirds already!? Seems early, but I won’t complain. Their beauty is always spectacular.

  2. I love hummingbirds. In fact, way way way back, my blog address used to be tequilahummingbird.blogspot.com!
    And the one you captured still, the second one, I’ve never seen a hummingbird shot with it sitting still; gorgeous!

  3. Amazing pictures!

  4. Hi Scienceguy I think what draws us is how can something so little and lovely be so darned aggressive? Watching them sword-fight is entertainment in and of itself!

  5. Hi Sumedh, I only wish I’d take the time to find a way to make his sitting spot more natural looking. (That would be my next step…) That little rofous made for a handsome subject!

  6. Thank you truddle! Thank you for visiting!

  7. What lovely hummingbird portraits! I’ve never seen a Caliope, and never knowingly seen a Rufous. We have both Rufous & Allen’s here, and the males are nearly impossible to tell apart unless they’re fanning their tail just so, and the females ARE impossible to tell apart.

    The Caliope’s big eyes and head give it a wonderful innocent look (anthropomorphizing here, sorry! :). Well captured!

  8. 8 montucky

    Nice shots! It’s so good to see them again. It will be weeks I think before ours return.

  9. Oh Adam I feel for you… if I was in a location with both Allens and Rufous I’d be completely confused. I’m lucky I guess that only the Rofous show up here. (I’ll keep an eye out tho…) Thanks for your visit me and the girls are so enjoying your vacation shots!

  10. Hi Montucky, I’m so glad they came. It seems early but that’s okay – I mean it was snowing here last week. The rufous has already deemed the feeder inappropriate for the calliope to feed on!

  11. 11 Bo

    What a gorgeous shot of the rufous! No hummingbirds my way for awhile yet… though maybe some more snow. 🙂

  12. Such am in awww with your great hummingbirds that have returned!

  13. lovely pics! i love #1 again 😉

  14. 14 Doug simons

    I am looking for someone with knowledge of Rufous hummingbirds. I live in Western Washington State and have had Rufous back at my feeders since mid-march, but I am concerned because this year they are very erractic in feeding and I appeared to have lost many of the ones that were here. I also had one die on the feeder. We have had abnormally cold weather this spring. Anyone with knowledge about Rufous, I would love a contact.
    Thank you, Doug Simons

  15. Doug, just my opinion but many of the ones that came through in March were probably still migrating. Some should stick around tho. (my guess) nevertheless; if you’d like direct info the most knowledgeable guy I know is Tom. This is his webpage and you can contact him on his “contact me” page. He is a field biologist with a specialty in birds over in New York state. Minimum he might be able to send you in the right direction. He’s a pretty smart guy. Here is his webpage.

    http://monarchbfly.com/

    Another good place would be to contact your local Audubon chapter and discuss the problem with them – I bet they will put your mind at ease. Here is a page to find yours….

    http://www.birdnote.org/birdnote.cfm?id=30

  16. 16 Kelly

    Does anyone know where I can find the place in Washington state that has about 40 feeders and hundreds of hummers? My husband’s barber went there over Memorial Day weekend but can’t remember the name of the town. We live in Sunnyside and I think it was within a one day trip area.

    Thanks!


  1. 1 rufous hummingbird photos

Leave a Reply

