I’ve been so busy…

29Apr08

so much so I wish I had a bumblebee to post but sadly, I don’t. A couple things occupied my attention a local man who wanted me to get him some local photographs for a business trip. I also have had company as well. The good news I’ve had fun the bad news I feel so neglectful. I’ll catch up on your posts today and then catch up on my photography hopefully the next day. Meanwhile… here’s what I got for you. Wildflowers…..

Today I’ll just toss up the ones I have no confusion on the identity of… which consists of a couple.

First, Arrowleaf Balsamroot (Balsamorhiza sagittata) This is a gorgeous clump of flowers that is probably one of the first real sights of spring only because it’s much larger than a bird and you can catch the happy yellow even while driving at 60mph in a car. A lot of this plant is actually edible and the Indians in these parts boiled the roots for food as well as ate the young shoots of the plant raw. It is considered technically both a wildflower and herb. This is so eye-catching actually that Lewis and Clark discussed this “sunflower” in their diary and discussed the Indian children collecting it for food.

arrowleaf balsamroot

How to identify? Well, one key is it’s fuzzy. Second, it’s all in the name “arrowleaf” the rather large slightly hairy, soft leaves come to a tip, like an arrow.

arrowleaf balsamroot

It is probably the easiest flower to photograph as you just cannot catch it from a bad angle it’s just very beautiful.

Arrowleaf Balsamroot

Woodland Stars are next. This is when wildflowers look so similar that it takes picking them and holding them up in front of your eyes before you catch a difference and then it’s shocking how really different the flowers are.

We have two kinds of woodland stars – the bulbous and the smallflower woodland-star. I’ll put them up so you can see the difference. Both are both about the same height (probably about three to four inches tall) with small bright white heads. The stem on the small-flowered is thicker, sometimes a pretty pale green and purple and seems more plush then it’s relative which is more purple and rather spindle like. The heads look different too both of their stems however have the typical purple cast to it.

bulbous woodland-star

bulbous woodland-star (Lithophragma glabrum)

smallflower woodland-star

smallflower woodland-star (Lithophragma parviflorum)

Last stop pioneer violet or sometimes commonly known as stream violets (Viola glabella) because often times they are found along side of streams. The second good way of telling is the typical heart shaped leaves for example….

Pioneer Violet

Pioneer Violet

14 Responses to “I’ve been so busy…”

  1. 1 montucky

    What a great photo of the Arrowleaf! Ours haven’t even begun to bloom yet. The violet is also a great shot, and I haven’t seen them out here yet either. Your area is way ahead of here!

  2. Amazing photos and I understand being busy! It is such a great time of the year!

  3. 3 Bo

    I love yellow violets, though perhaps they should be called yellow yellows??? 🙂

  4. I’ve never seen these woodland stars here; fabulous images!

  5. Interesting, I’ve never seen yellow violets before! They’re beautiful. All of your photos are beautiful as always. But, you must stop feeling guilty about anything … this is a very, very busy time of year and your blog as well as all “other stuff” will be there tomorrow! Enjoy the beautiful weather!

  6. You’re a great phtographer, these flowers are beautiful. Goes to show how great nature is, if we stop and appreciate it.

  7. Hi Montucky, our blooms happened overnight.. about a week ago. Usually your “calendar” is way ahead of mine or it’s pretty much the same. Interesting how mother nature runs by her own clock!

  8. Thanks for visiting Monarch – developing shots for a the fellow took up more time than I expected. It’s okay tho – I just hope his presentation on this area is successful.

  9. Good point Bo!! 🙂

  10. Thank you Sumedh, I’m practicing my “in studio” portraits of these little wildflowers. I’m only doing this because I’ve rarely seen it done and no one can have too much studio work. 🙂

  11. Hi Janet, usually my worries is I’ll end up falling behind on my friends blogs and then have weeks of catch up! (I also in a very selfish way have to admit I don’t want to miss anything!) 😉 Every one’s blog is so interesting and always inspires me!

  12. Thank you Anonymous – stop by anytime.

  13. Remarkably beautiful photos Lori. I love how you captured and crafted them.


  1. 1 A Comparison? « A Little Bit o’ Everything!

Leave a Reply

