Happy Mother’s Day….

11May08

Here are my most recent bird feeder shots….

House Finch

House finch

Pine Siskin

Pine siskin

Juvenile Red crossbill

Juvenile Red crossbill

Red Crossbill (male)

Red crossbill (male)

p.s. for my birthday I got a wicked hunting blind! (I love that it was a 40th birthday present!) I can sit, wait, and take shots without upsetting or disturbing the birds.

I’ll also include a couple flowers just for my mom.

Columbia virgin's bower

(Clematis columbiana) or rock clematis but most commonly called Columbia virgin’s bower.

I know this is a Larkspur, my best guess is Upland larkspur. If I’m right for the record it’s (Delphinium nuttallianum.)

Upland Larkspur

With opened petals….
Upland Larkspur

A bumble on Tall Oregon grape. (Mahonia aquifolium)

bumble bee on orgeon grape

And lastly, my pup Pepper… she was being stealthy…. shhhhhh!

pepper

9 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day….”

  1. Such stunning photos and a great tribute to all mothers around the world!

  2. 2 montucky

    That hunting blind was an exceptionally thoughtful gift for you! Looks like Pepper has her own version. Happy Birthday and Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. Great shots Lori, we have Larkspur here as well, but I have never seen a Crossbill, very nice images !! 🙂

  4. 4 Bo

    A hunting blind! Marvelous!

  5. Thanks Monarch! 🙂

  6. Montucky – I agree my hubby knows me. I agree Pepper seems to have created her own. My husband (ex-military) one night showed me the power of a grenade (cracked me up) by digging a hole in the sand, and tossing one in it. It created this deep sand pit and that’s where Pepper is hiding. It’s one of her favorite spots to hide when she’s being lectured.

  7. Thanks Bernie.. thank you for visiting. It’s so nice to see your shots again!

  8. Hi Bo. I know I was thrilled! 🙂

  9. Incredible photos Lori, you are really learning to be a storyteller with your camera. Very nicely done. I love watching your vision grow and seeing nature through your eyes.


Leave a Reply

